Welcome to PJ News. The home of the printed and digital world of news media.

Advertisement Advertisement

Production Journal and Headlines


News Article

Neil Benson succeeds Paul Dacre as chair of Code Committee

TRINITY Mirror group editor Neil Benson (pictured) has succeeded Paul Dacre as chairman of the Editors’ Code of Practice Committee, which sets and revises the rules upheld by press regulator IPSO.

The committee is made up of nine editors, three independent lay members and the chairman and chief executive of the Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO).

Benson, who is group executive editor at Trinity Mirror, was elected by the industry members of the committee. He plans to step down from his role at Trinity Mirror at the end of the year.

Dacre announced his intention to stand down as chairman in December last year after acting on advice in an external review of IPSO that recommended members serve no more than two three-year terms on the committee.

Gary Shipton, deputy editor-in-chief of Johnston Press and editorial director of its Sussex newspapers, has also been appointed to serve on the committee. He succeeds Ian Murray, who left the Southampton Southern Daily Echo earlier this year and is now deputy executive director of the Society of Editors.

Advertise Here

Contact us for details

Dimensions: 190 x 100px